The official 2009 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Nominees

The official Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominations for 2009 were announced today. There are six first time nominees this year -- Metallica, Jeff Beck (as a solo artist), Bobby Womack, Little Anthony and the Imperials, War, and Run-DMC. Previously nominated artists back on the ballot are Wanda Jackson, the Stooges, and Chic, who have now been nominated 14 times collectively. Run-DMC are the only artist this time to be nominated in their first year of eligibility. The rest of the artists had been seriously considered by the Nominating Committee in the past and can be found on this list.

Some artists who were left off the ballot are 2008 finalists the Beastie Boys, Donna Summer and Afrika Bambaataa. From the newly eligible artists, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Bon Jovi, and the Smiths are notably absent.

The Rock Hall continues to nominate artists outside of the traditional "rock" genre. This year there was rumored to be a focus on various rock and roll sub-genres, and that seems to have come to fruition. This year's nominees include heavy metal (Metallica), hip-hop (Run-DMC), rockabilly (Wanda Jackson), doo-wop (Little Anthony and the Imperials), funk (War), disco (Chic), guitar rock (Jeff Beck), proto-punk (The Stooges), and R&B (Bobby Womack) -- but still no prog rock (sorry Rush fans!). By nominating a single artist per sub-genre, the Rock Hall Nominating Committee is having the voters basically choose whichever genres most appeal to them.

We would prefer to see a system which allows more nominees each year, where you voters could have a choice between a couple of artists with similar backgrounds. For example, nominate Jeff Beck and Stevie Ray Vaughan. Run-DMC and the Beastie Boys. The Stooges and the MC5. And on and on. Apparently those discussions and decisions happen behind the closed doors of the Nominating Committee meeting and are kept away from the 500 rock experts on the voting committee.

We'll have more analysis over the next couple of months leading up to the announcement of the five inductees in January, 2009. The ceremony will be held in Cleveland on April 4, 2009. Tickets will be available to the public for the first time ever.

You can cast your own unofficial ballot here!

To comment on the nominations, check out the 2009 Nominees page and go to to read the official press release.
blog comments powered by Disqus