The official 2008 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Nominees

The official Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominations for 2008 were announced today. There are six first time nominees this year -- Afrika Bambaataa, Madonna, Beastie Boys, Donna Summer, Leonard Cohen, and the Ventures. Previously nominated artists back on the ballot are John Mellencamp, the Dave Clark Five, and Chic, who have now been nominated 10 times collectively. This is the first year of eligibility for Madonna and the Beastie Boys, and it's no surprise they have been nominated since they are both popular and critical favorites. Shockingly, rock legends Metallica and Sonic Youth did not make the cut in their first year of eligibility.

The Dave Clark Five and Chic are two of the four artists who were nominated for 2007 but didn't get inducted. The Stooges and Joe Tex also didn't make it last year but weren't given a chance again this time.

Last year, the Dave Clark Five were memorably involved in some Rock Hall controversy involving Jann Wenner and vote totals.

By nominating pop, hip hop, and disco artists this year, it's clear the Rock Hall won't be restricted by "rock" labels and will continue to cast a wide net towards all forms of popular music. However, without a Metallica on the ballot, there is a glaring lack of hard rock artists, not to mention the continued snub of all things prog rock.

To comment on the nominations, check out the 2008 Nominees page and check out the official press release.
blog comments powered by Disqus