New members of "The Clyde McPhatter Club"

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame watcher Charles Crossley, Jr. maintains a list of members of what he calls "The Clyde McPhatter Club" which consists of artists who have been inducted multiple times. The 2009 inductions will add two members to the group, Jeff Beck (previously with the Yardbirds) and Sam Strain of the Imperials (previously with O'Jays). Here is the entire list:
  • Clyde McPhatter (inducted solo in 1987 and with the Drifters in 1988)
  • Eric Clapton (with the Yardbirds in 1992, with Cream in 1993, solo in 2000, the only artist inducted three times)
  • John Lennon (with the Beatles in 1988, solo in 1994)
  • Jimmy Page (with the Yardbirds in 1992, with Led Zeppelin in 1995)
  • Neil Young (solo in 1995, with Buffalo Springfield in 1997)
  • David Crosby (with the Byrds in 1991, Crosby, Stills & Nash in 1997)
  • Stephen Stills (with Buffalo Springfield and Crosby, Stills and Nash, both in 1997, the only artist to be inducted twice in the same year)
  • Curtis Mayfield (with the Impressions in 1991, solo in 1999)
  • Paul McCartney (with the Beatles in 1988, solo in 1999)
  • Michael Jackson (with the Jackson 5 in 1997, solo in 2001)
  • Paul Simon (with Simon & Garfunkel in 1990, solo in 2001)
  • Johnny Carter (with the Flamingos in 2001, with the Dells in 2004)
  • George Harrison (with the Beatles in 1988, solo in 2004)
  • Jeff Beck (with the Yardbirds in 1992, solo in 2009)
  • Sam Strain (with the O'Jays in 2005, with Little Anthony & the Imperials in 2009)

Who are some future potential members of this group? Ozzy Osbourne? Ringo Starr? Sting? Lou Reed? Peter Gabriel? Or, thinking much further ahead -- Jack White? Dave Grohl? Eddie Vedder? Thom Yorke?

Be sure to also check out Crossley's list of 250 top eligible artists for the Rock Hall.

blog comments powered by Disqus