Rock Hall Class of 2005

New York | Waldorf Astoria Hotel | March 14, 2005 | Private Event | VH1

These artists were voted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2004, but the induction ceremony took place in 2005. Click here for a list of artists who were first eligible in 2004 and haven't gotten in yet.

ArtistInducted ByCategory
Frank BarsalonaSteve Van ZandtLifetime Achievement
Seymour SteinIce-TLifetime Achievement
Buddy GuyEric Clapton and B.B. KingPerformer
The O'JaysJustin TimberlakePerformer
Percy SledgeRod StewartPerformer
The PretendersNeil YoungPerformer
U2Bruce SpringsteenPerformer

Nominees who didn't make the cut in 2005

These artists were officially nominated in the Performer category for induction in 2004, but didn't receive enough votes from the "international voting body of rock experts" to get in that year. Nearly 70% of rejected artists eventually get inducted in a later year.

ArtistEventually Inducted In
Conway TwittyNot yet
Gram ParsonsNot yet
Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five2007
The J. Geils BandNot yet
Lynyrd Skynyrd2006
Patti Smith2007
Randy Newman2013
Sex Pistols2006
The Stooges2010
Wanda Jackson2009

Nominating Committee who determined the 2005 performer ballot

Jon Landau, co-chairman
Seymour Stein, co-chairman
Bill Adler
Roger Ames
Michele Anthony
Gary Arnold
Frank Barsalona
James Bernard
Jim Bessman
David Bither
Nathan Brackett
Rosemary Carroll
Clive Davis
Anthony DeCurtis
Don DeVito
Rob Dickins
Ahmet Ertegun
Suzan Evans, ex officio
Danny Fields
Jason Fine
Jim Fishel
Bill Flanagan
Chet Flippo
David Fricke
Gregg Geller
Nelson George
Charlie Gillett
Jeff Gold
Danny Goldberg
Ruben Guevara
Peter Guralnick
Jim Henke
Bob Hilburn
David Hinckley
Robert Hull
Don Ienner
Jimmy Iovine
Jeff Jones
Lenny Kaye
Howie Klein
Bob Krasnow
Bill Levenson
Arthur Levy
Joe Levy
Dave Marsh
Joe McEwen
Judy McGrath
Andy McKaie
Bob Merlis
David Mills
Doug Morris
Steve Morse
Andy Paley
Claudia Perry
Sylvia Rhone
Robbie Robertson
Lisa Robinson
Jon Savage
Bud Scoppa
Joel Selvin
Paul Shaffer
Tom Silverman
Joe Smith
Phil Spector
Terry Stewart
John Sykes
Roy Trakin
Steven Van Zandt
Harry Weinger
Barry Weiss
Jann Wenner
Craig Werner
Jerry Wexler
Adam White
Andy Wickham


This site is not affiliated with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.