Rock Hall Class of 2000

New York | Waldorf Astoria Hotel | March 6, 2000 | Private Event | VH1

These artists were voted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1999, but the induction ceremony took place in 2000. Click here for a list of artists who were first eligible in 1999 and haven't gotten in yet.

ArtistInducted ByCategory
Bonnie RaittMelissa EtheridgePerformer
Earth, Wind & FireLil KimPerformer
Eric ClaptonRobbie RobertsonPerformer
James TaylorPaul McCartneyPerformer
Lovin' SpoonfulJohn MellencampPerformer
The MoonglowsPaul SimonPerformer
Clive DavisPatti SmithNon-Performer
Billie HolidayDiana RossEarly Influence
Nat "King" ColeRay CharlesEarly Influence
Earl PalmerMike Leiber and Jerry StollerSideman
Hal BlaineMike Leiber and Jerry StollerSideman
James JamersonMike Leiber and Jerry StollerSideman
King CurtisMike Leiber and Jerry StollerSideman
Scotty MooreMike Leiber and Jerry StollerSideman

Nominees who didn't make the cut in 2000

These artists were officially nominated in the Performer category for induction in 1999, but didn't receive enough votes from the "international voting body of rock experts" to get in that year. Nearly 70% of rejected artists eventually get inducted in a later year.

ArtistEventually Inducted In
Black Sabbath2006
The Flamingos2001
Lou Reed2015
The O'Jays2005
Ritchie Valens2001
Solomon Burke2001
Steely Dan2001

Nominating Committee who determined the 2000 performer ballot

Jon Landau, co-chairman
Seymour Stein, co-chairman
Bill Adler
Roger Ames
Michele Anthony
Gary Arnold
Steven Baker
Frank Barsalona
James Bernard
Jim Bessman
David Bither
Harold Bronson
Clive Davis
Anthony DeCurtis
Don DeVito
Rob Dickins
Ahmet Ertegun
Suzan Evans, ex officio
Danny Fields
Jim Fishel
Bill Flanagan
Larry Flick
Chet Flippo
David Fricke
Gregg Geller
Nelson George
Charlie Gillett
Jeff Gold
Danny Goldberg
Ruben Guevara
Peter Guralnick
Jim Henke
Bob Hilburn
David Hinckley
Robert Hull
Don Ienner
Jimmy Iovine
Jeff Jones
Lenny Kaye
Howie Klein
Bob Krasnow
Bill Levenson
Arthur Levy
Roy Lott
Dave Marsh
Joe McEwen
Judy McGrath
Andy McKaie
Bob Merlis
David Mills
Doug Morris
Steve Morse
Andy Paley
Claudia Perry
Sylvia Rhone
Lisa Robinson
Jon Savage
Bud Scoppa
Joel Selvin
Paul Shaffer
Tom Silverman
Danyel Smith
Joe Smith
Phil Spector
John Sykes
LeBaron Taylor
Al Teller
Roy Trakin
Harry Weinger
Jann Wenner
Craig Werner
Jerry Wexler
Adam White
Andy Wickham


This site is not affiliated with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.