Rock Hall Class of 1987

New York | Waldorf Astoria Hotel | January 21, 1987 | Private Event | not televised

These artists were voted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1986, but the induction ceremony took place in 1987. Click here for a list of artists who were first eligible in 1986 and haven't gotten in yet.

ArtistInducted ByCategory
Aretha FranklinKeith RichardsPerformer
B. B. KingStingPerformer
Big Joe TurnerDoc PomusPerformer
Bill HaleyChuck BerryPerformer
Bo DiddleyZZ TopPerformer
Carl PerkinsSam PhillipsPerformer
Clyde McPhatterBen E. KingPerformer
The CoastersLester SillPerformer
Eddie CochranMick JonesPerformer
Jackie WilsonPeter WolfPerformer
Marvin GayeNick Ashford and Valerie SimpsonPerformer
Muddy WatersPaul ButterfieldPerformer
Ricky NelsonJohn FogertyPerformer
Roy OrbisonBruce SpringsteenPerformer
Smokey RobinsonDaryl Hall and John OatesPerformer
Ahmet ErtegunJann S. Wenner and Walter YetnikoffNon-Performer
Jerry Leiber and Mike StollerBrian WilsonNon-Performer
Jerry WexlerJann S. WennerNon-Performer
Leonard ChessEwart AbnerNon-Performer
Hank WilliamsSeymour SteinEarly Influence
Louis JordanSeymour SteinEarly Influence
T-Bone WalkerSeymour SteinEarly Influence

Nominees who didn't make the cut in 1987

These artists were officially nominated in the Performer category for induction in 1986, but didn't receive enough votes from the "international voting body of rock experts" to get in that year. Nearly 70% of rejected artists eventually get inducted in a later year.

ArtistEventually Inducted In
Ben E. KingNot yet
Bobby "Blue" Bland1992
Bobby Darin1990
Chuck WillisNot yet
Del Shannon1999
Duane Eddy1994
Esther PhillipsNot yet
The Flamingos2001
Frankie Lymon and the Teenagers1993
Gene Pitney2002
Gene Vincent1998
Gladys Knight and the Pips1996
Hank Ballard1990
Ike and Tina Turner1991
Jimmy Reed1991
Johnny AceNot yet
King Curtis2000
LaVern Baker1991
Little Willie John1996
Lloyd Price1998
Mary WellsNot yet
Ruth Brown1993
Solomon Burke2001
The Supremes1988

Nominating Committee who determined the 1987 performer ballot

Seymour Stein, chairman
Bob Altshuler
Ahmet Ertegun
Nesuhi Ertegun
Suzan Evans, ex officio
Bill Graham
John Hammond
Bob Hilburn
Lenny Kaye
Bob Krasnow
Kurt Loder
Bruce Lundvall
Scott Muni
Norm N. Nite
Bob Porter
Jann Wenner
Jerry Wexler


This site is not affiliated with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.